State water polo championships ready to go; Follow the action at Tournament Headquarters

State water polo championships ready to go; Follow the action at Tournament Headquarters

Tournament Headquarters l Championship Store

SAN LUIS OBISPO, Calif. - North meets South to determine the best community college water polo programs in the state when eight men's and women's teams meet midway at Cuesta College for the 2017 California Community College Water Polo Championships on Friday and Saturday.

Fans can follow all the action through the Tournament Headquarters where they can access links to live video, recaps, social media and photos. They can also carry memories of the championships through commemorative apparel at the Championship Store.

All games will be shown live online by SoCal College Sports. Links are available on the Tournament Headquarters page.

Action gets underway on Friday with a pair of semifinal games in the chases for both the men's and women's titles. West Valley (30-2), looking to return to the winner's podium for the first time since 2010, is the top seed from the north and will open the men's event with a showdown against 2015 champion Long Beach City (20-6) at 10:30 a.m. The women will then host their first semi as north top seed Sierra (24-5) faces defending champion Riverside City (25-4) at 11 a.m.

The afternoon brings the remaining semifinal matchups as defending men's champion Golden West (29-0) looks to take a step toward its ninth state championship since 2001 when it squares off against Sierra (16-8). Santa Barbara City (29-3), the No. 1 seed from the south, will conclude the first day with its matchup against San Joaquin Delta (26-10).

Third-place games are set for Saturday at 9:30 a.m. (men) and 10:45 (women) with the championships scheduled for noon (men) and 1:15 p.m. (women).

No other men's team besides Golden West, Long Beach and West Valley has won a state championship since Citrus College in 2000. In fact, Citrus is the only program besides those three to win a banner since 1985. On the women's side, Riverside is the only team in this year's field that has won a state title after having captured five since the tournament's first year in 1996. No Northern California program has won a women's state title yet.