Mt. SAC Sweeps Team Crowns At SCC Cross Country Championships

Mt. SAC Sweeps Team Crowns At SCC Cross Country Championships

The Mt. San Antonio's men's team captured its fourth consecutive South Coast Conference cross country crown and 18th title in the conference's history in winning the 2016 SCC Championships held at Legg Lake Park in South El Monte. It matches the Mounties longest string of consecutive titles, also four from 1997-2000.

The 11 Mt. SAC runners among the top 14 All-Conference finishers breaks the South Coast record for most ever accomplished by one college at a finals meet set last year by the Mounties with 9.

Freshman Mountie Trelani Waters ran the 4-mile course in 20 minutes even to beat the next competitor by five seconds and win the individual race.

The Mounties 17 points ties for the second best score in SCC men's cross country history (1982, Orange Coast). Last year, Mt. SAC scored an amazing perfect 15 points (first 5 runners) for the best mark ever.

The Mt. San Antonio women's team won its 17th SCC team cross country title and first since 2014.

Los Angeles Harbor, new to the SCC in the sport, placed second as a team and had the second-best overall finisher in Jocelyn Dominguez.

Alexis Ceballos of Long Beach City is the individual champion and first Vikings' woman to win the SCC crown since 2005 when Amelia Valinsky-Fillipow won at Griffith Park, Los Angeles.

SCC Results, All-SCC

Complete results at this link: